

PRESS RELEASE

March 20, 2019 at 11:30 a.m. **For Release** March 20, 2019 at 11:30 a.m.

East Asian Economic Review Announces Winners of 2018 Best Paper of the Year

KIEP presents 2018 EAER Best Paper of the Year to Dr. Seojin Lee (Korea Energy Economics Institute) for the first prize.

The Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (KIEP) has selected "Economic Policy Uncertainty in the US: Does It Matter for Korea?", authored by Dr. Seojin Lee (Korea Energy Economics Institute) as the first prize winner of the 2018 EAER Best Paper of the Year awards. The award ceremony was held on 20th March, 2019 at the president's office of KIEP.

Utilizing the Economic Policy Uncertainty Index (EPU), this paper examines whether the EPU in other countries affect the EPU in Korea and shows that the United States' EPU is an important factor in understanding the exchange rate volatility in Korea. This paper is a timely study in that it utilizes and analyzes the EPU index, which has recently come under attention in many other studies. The paper is also creative in the sense that it examines the relation between foreign EPU and domestic EPU in Korea and investigates whether the United States' EPU is a key factor for the Korean exchange rate risk. Finally, the paper makes significant academic contributions and offers important policy implications by applying the EPU to the currency market.

The 2018 Best Paper Selection Committee, composed of six members, applied four criteria of excellence for selection: academic contribution, research originality, logical clarity, and policy implications. Following careful deliberation throughout the selection process, the Committee selected Seojin Lee's paper for the first prize. Second prizes were awarded to "Gravity with Intermediate Goods Trade" by Sujin Jang and E. Young Song of Sogang University, and "Dissecting Gains from Trade: Changes in Welfare Cost of Autarky" by Paras Kharel of SAWTEE.

As a quarterly journal published by KIEP, the East Asian Economic Review (EAER) annually selects and announces winners of its Best Paper awards, with the purpose of establishing strong theoretical foundations for policy research and facilitating interdisciplinary research in the field of international economics and regional economic studies.



Appendix: Winners of the EAER Best Paper of the Year (1st - 17th)

YEAR	TITLE	AUTHORS
1st (2001)	Intra-industry Trade and the Gravity Equation: A Cournot-Ricardo Approach	E. Young Song (Sogang Univ.)
2nd (2002)	Impact of FDI on Competition: The Korean Experience (1991-1997)	Mikyung Yun (KIEP)
3rd (2003)	Deviation from Covered Interest Rate Parity in Korea	Seungho Lee (The Bank of Korea)
4th (2004)	Realized Volatility in Seoul Foreign Exchange Market	Chae-Shick Chung (Sogang Univ.) Sangyong Joo (Konkuk Univ.) Seung Moon Lee (The Bank of Korea)
5th (2005)	Estimation of the Exchange Rate Pass-Through: Evidence from Korean Domestic Prices	Sangho Yi (The Bank of Korea)
6th (2006)	(1st) Integration Among Major Capital Markets in the World: An Investigation Focusing on Firm Value	Jungwon Suh (Ewha Womans Univ.)
	(2nd) Dynamic Determinants of Korean Productivity Changes: with Emphasis on Trade	Sangho Kim (Honam Univ.) Hyunjoon Lim (Rochester Univ.)
7/1	(1st) Trade in Services and Economic Growth	Soonchan Park (Kongju National Univ.)
7th (2007)	(2nd) Natural Resources, Governance, and Economic Growth in Africa	Bokyeong Park (KIEP) Kang-Kook Lee (Ritsumeikan Univ.)
8th (2008)	Equilibrium Indeterminacy in a Small Open Economy with Traded and Non-traded Capital	Jongkyou Jeon (Kyung Hee Univ.)
9th (2009)	Greenhouse Gases Emissions Reduction and WTO Trade Rules	Younghwan Kim (Ministry of Knowledge Economy)
10th (2010)	Impacts of Service Offshoring on Productivity and Employment: Evidence from Korea	Soonchan Park (Kongju National Univ.)
11th (2011)	Investing in Port Infrastructure to Lower Trade Costs in East Asia	Kazutomo Abe (Tokyo Denki Univ.) John S. Wilson (World Bank)



12th (2012)	Protection of Intellectual Property Rights and Subsidy Policy for Foreign Direct Investment	Moonsung Kang (Korea Univ.)
13th (2013)	A Free Trade Area of the Asia Pacific (FTAAP): Is It Desirable?	Sangkyom Kim (KIEP) Innwon Park (Korea Univ.) Soonchan Park (Kongju National Univ.)
14th (2014)	Country Fundamentals and Currency Excess Returns	Daehwan Kim (Konkuk Univ.) Chi-Young Song (Kookmin Univ.)
15th (2015)	Trade Finance and Trade Collapse during the Global Financial Crisis: Evidence from the Republic of Korea	E. Young Song (Sogang Univ.)
16 th (2016)	Comparing the Global and Merged with the Local and Separate: On a Downside to the Integration of Regions and Nations	Oded Stark (Universities of Bonn and Warsaw; Georgetown Univ.)
17 th (2017)	Trade, Trade Finance, and Global Liquidity in Asia: Markov-Switching FAVAR Approach	Douglas H. Brooks (Asian Development Bank) Elvira Kurmanalieva (Eurasian Development Bank) Doo Yong Yang (Kyung Hee Univ.)

-End-



About the Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (KIEP)

The Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (KIEP) was founded in 1989 as a government-funded economic research institute. It is a leading institute concerning the international economy and its relationship with Korea. KIEP advises the government on all major international economic policy issues and serves as a warehouse of information on Korea's international economic policies. Further, KIEP carries out research by request from outside institutions and organizations on all areas of the Korean and international economies.

[Location] Building C, Sejong National Research Complex, 370, Sicheong-daero, Sejong-si, Korea

Tel: 82-44-414-1114

For more information, contact:

KIEP, Editorial Board, East Asian Economic Review (EAER)
Managing Editor, Taekyoung Ahn
(TEL) 044-414-1171 | (E-Mail) tkahn@kiep.go.kr

KIEP, Public Relations and Outreach Team
(TEL) 044-414-1210 | (E-Mail) hjnoh@kiep.go.kr



[Photo1] The EAER Best Paper Award was held on March 20th, 2019 at the Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (KIEP) in Sejoing.



(From the right) President Jae-Young Lee of KIEP, Dr. Seojin Lee of Korea Energy Economics Institute, Senior Vice President Chul Chung of KIEP

[Photo2] Dr. Seojin Lee of Korea Energy Economics Institute was awarded The EAER Best Paper Award by President Jae-Young Lee of KIEP on March 20th, 2019 at the Korea Institute for International Economic Policy (KIEP) in Sejoing.



(On the right) President Jae-Young Lee of KIEP and (On the left) Dr. Seojin Lee of Korea Energy Economics Institute